Deaf South Region

Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind – Deaf South Region encompasses 18 counties and 22 school districts. Responsible for providing quality language development and specific educational practices to deaf and hard of hearing students in primarily rural areas of our state, Deaf South collaborates with local districts, families, and school personnel to provide appropriate services regardless of student location.

For students in Utah County, we have a strong Listening and Spoken Language (LSL) program, serving students from Preschool to 3rd grade. We also have a growing American Sign Language (ASL) program, currently serving students in Preschool and High School. During 2020, we are expecting to open a new building in Springville that will house all of our preschool and elementary programs.

For students outside of Utah County, we have highly qualified teachers of the deaf and hearing/language specialists who provide outreach services to students in Beaver, Carbon, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Kane, Grand, Iron, Millard, North Sanpete, South Sanpete, Piute, San Juan, Sevier, Uintah, Washington, and Wayne school districts. Our teachers and professionals help facilitate students to leave our schools to transfer to the mainstream classes and will welcome students from mainstream schools into  our more dynamic intervention and instruction as needed. Through video conferencing technology, we are able to provide distance interpreting, ASL specific training, auditory verbal therapy, speech, and other general academic learning to rural parts of the state. This has allowed us to be more efficient with our services and allows our professionals more time with the children we serve.


We are expecting to move into our new Springville building in December of 2019!