Outreach Services for the Blind

Mission

Using the Expanded Core Curriculum, Outreach Vision Services leads with inclusivity to prepare students who are blind and visually impaired for the highest level of success in the home, school, and community.

Brandon's Work phone 318

Motto

Committed to inspiring students who are blind or visually impaired to lifelong learning and independence.

Services

Outreach Vision Services serves students in Utah with visual impairments or blindness attending their neighborhood school districts or charter schools. Our USB outreach Teachers of Students with Vision Impairments (TSVI’s) provide one-on-one vision support based on a student’s Individualized Education Plan (IEP) or 504 Plan. We specialize in the delivery of instruction in the expanded core curriculum – the skills visually impaired individuals require to succeed in the home, school, and community. This may include Braille (we teach braille across the entire State of Utah), technology, and social skills instruction, career education, self-advocacy skills (to name a few); we assist in providing large print, braille, digital texts, learning materials, or other appropriate equipment so students can access their school curriculums. TSVI’s  collaborate with the regular education teacher, special education team, and parents in the IEP or 504 process.

Outreach Vision Services also includes Orientation and Mobility (O&M) support to students who are blind and visually impaired that need specialized instruction in traveling safely in their environments. The O&M instructors provide teaching and consultation in school districts across the state on the proper cane techniques as well as safe low vision travel skills. This is done with students ages 3-21 but consultation also takes place for children from birth to 3 years old in our Parent Infant Program. Assessments and strategies are implemented on an individual basis to ensure each student has the skills required for safe cane travel in a variety of educational settings. 

Everything we do,  the focus at the Utah School for the Blind is to provide personalized education to meet the individual needs of each student and promote their development into educated, capable, and confident adults.

Brandon Watts
Director of Outreach Vision Services
801-464-2035
River Tabakian
Secretary of Outreach Vision Services
801-464-2051

Teachers of the Visually Impaired

Alex Westergard  alexwe@usdb.org – Cache and Box Elder

Amber Jensen  amberj@usdb.org – Tooele

Clorinda Galbraith clorindag@usdb.org – Ogden and Morgan (Also Ogden Deaf School students who are visually impaired)

Jenny Hooper jennyh@usdb.org – Charter Schools in Herriman and Alpine School District

Jessica Brown  jessicab@usdb.org – Canyons

Kristina Buck kristinab@usdb.org – Charter Schools in Washington School District

Lisa Nebeker lisan@usdb.org – Cache, Logan, Box Elder

Lori Miller loraliem@usdb.org – Ogden, Charters

Marcela Conger  marcelac@usdb.org – Cache, Rich, Box Elder

Miika Brunson  miikab@usdb.org – Uintah and Duchesne

Nancy Nielson  nancyn@usdb.org – Millard, Juab, Beaver, Tooele, and Eureka

Pam Sitterud  pamelas@usdb.org – Emery and Carbon

Reid Sifford reids@usdb.org – Grand and San Juan

Madelyn Stafford madelyns@usdb.org – Tooele

Sharon Draper  sharond@usdb.org – Murray

Sue Griffin sueg@usdb.org – Sevier, S. Sanpete, N. Sanpete, Wayne

Suzy Blackham  suzyb@usdb.org – Park City

Vanda Jones vandaj@usdb.org – Iron, Beaver, Kane, and Garfield

Brittany Southworth,  brittanys@usdb.org – Provo

Carol Green,  carolg@usdb.org – Provo

Orientation and Mobility Specialists
Elizabeth Menlove, elizabethme@usdb.org – Granite, Murray, Salt Lake Campus programs
Jinsong Huang, jinsongh@usdb.org – Ogden Campus Programs, Davis
Kari Frederickson, karif@usdb.org – Cache, Box Elder, Logan
LeeAndra Jones, leeandraj@usdb.org – Uintah, Duchesne, Granite, Murray
Linda Breeden, lindabr@usdb.org – Canyons SD and Charters in Jordan and Alpine
Marie Hollinger, marieh@usdb.org – Granite and Tooele
Melanie Manwaring, melaniem@usdb.org – Nebo, Provo, S. Sanpete, N. Sanpete, Emery
Melissa Chandler, melissach@usdb.org – Ogden and Ogden Campus.
Nana Dewald,  nanap@usdb.org – Wasatch, Park City, Granite, South Summit, Millard, Washington SD
Rachel Beckstrand,  rachelb@usdb.org – Nebo, San Juan, Millard, Juab, Springville Campus Programs
Shannon Brown,  shannonb@usdb.org – Weber, Davis, and Ogden Campus Students
Tammy Noble, 
tamaran@usdb.org – Iron, Washington

Follow Utah School for the Blind on Social Media


Utah School for the Blind FaceBook Page    9MoreThanCore on Instagram   Utah school for the Blind on Twitter